Report for: Full Council – 23 May 2022

Item number:

Title: STATEMENT OF MEMBERS ATTENDANCE 2021/2022

Authorised by: Fiona Alderman–Head of Legal and Governance & Monitoring

Officer

Lead Officer: Ayshe Simsek, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager

0208 489 2929 ayshe.simsek@haringey.gov.uk

Ward(s) affected: All

Report for Key/

Non Key Decision: Non Key Decisions

1. Describe the issue under consideration

1.1 To note the statement of Member attendance for the period 27 May 2021 to 5 May 2022.

2. Cabinet Member Introduction

N/A

3. Recommendations

3.1 That the statement of attendance, as attached, be noted.

4. BACKGROUND

4.1 Part four of the Council Constitution at section C paragraph 8 [Statement of attendances] advises that a statement showing the actual and possible attendances of each member at meetings of the Council and its Committees and Sub committees since and including the last annual meeting shall be presented annually to the council at its last meeting in each municipal year and be entered in the minutes.

5. Comments of the Head of Legal and Governance & Monitoring Officer

- 5.1 Attendance of members at meetings of the the council is required to consider relevant facts and issues relating to the functions of the Council.
- 5.2 Section 85 of the Local Government Act 1972 states that if a member of the council fails throughout a period of six consecutive months from the date of their last attendance to attend any meeting of the council then they shall cease to be



- a member, unless the failure was due to some reason approved by the council before the expiry of the period they cease to be a member.
- 5.3 The publication of the statement of Member attendance is in the interest of good governance and transparency.
- 6. Use of Appendices
- 6.1 Appendix 1 Statement of attendance 2021/22
- 7. Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985
- 7.1 Background documents:

Statement of attendance 2020/21

- 7.2 The background papers are located at River Park House, 225 High Road, Wood Green, London N22 8HQ.
- 7.3 To inspect them or to discuss this report further, please contact Ayshe Simsek on 0208 489 2929.



Statement of attendance of Councillors at Council, committees, sub-committees and panel meetings: 27 May 2021 to 5 May 2022 inclusive

These bodies have not been included:

- Disciplinary and Dismissal Appeals Panel
- Job Evaluation and Grievance Appeals Panels
- Outside bodies
- Single party meetings (with the exception of scheduled meetings of the Cabinet)
- Evidence gathering sessions for Scrutiny bodies

This list represents only the attendance at formal Council bodies as listed on the Appointments of Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels for 2021/22.

These figures do not include apologies for clashes of meetings which are noted as an absence.

These figures record member's attendance to quroum meetings and virtual meetings as Apologies. Full details of Member's attendance figures can be found on the Haringey website where specific notes on reasons for apologies is explained. These are:

- Apologies received (Attending virtually)
- Apologies received (Quroum only meeting)
- Apologies received (Maternity/Paternity leave)

Councillors attend numerous community meetings and are required to represent the Council on outside bodies. These meetings may sometimes clash with formal Council body meetings and the Councillor attendance figures set out in this report could be reduced as a result.

Where a member has a personal or prejudicial interest in a matter at a meeting they should absent themselves from the meeting during consultation of that matter. This may result in a reduction of their attendance figures.

This information is also listed on our website here: http://www.minutes.haringey.gov.uk/mgUserAttendanceSummary.aspx



Councillor		Total Expected	Present	Absent	Apologies
Councillor Adam Jogee	Labour	10	10	0	0
Councillor Alessandra Rossetti	Liberal Democrats	19	7	1	11
Councillor Anne Stennett	Labour	23	19	0	4
Councillor Barbara Blake	Labour	29	25	0	4
Councillor Bob Hare	Liberal Democrats	35	30	1	4
Councillor Charles Adje	Labour	24	12	0	12
Councillor Dana Carlin	Labour	40	35	1	4
Councillor Daniel Stone	Labour	27	2	15	10
Councillor Dawn Barnes	Liberal Democrats	21	14	0	7
Councillor Dhiren Basu	Labour	36	24	2	10
Councillor Dr. James Chiriyankandath	Independent	27	9	0	18
Councillor Eldridge Culverwell	Labour	25	18	2	5
Councillor Elin Weston	Labour	30	15	0	15
Councillor Emine Ibrahim	Labour	51	33	8	10
Councillor Erdal Dogan	Labour	25	25	0	0
Councillor Felicia Opoku	Labour	20	10	1	9
Councillor Gideon Bull	Independent	24	14	0	10
Councillor Gina Adamou	Labour	44	23	0	21
Councillor Isidoros Diakides	Labour	24	20	0	4
Councillor John Bevan	Labour	27	25	0	2
Councillor Joseph Ejiofor	Labour	16	10	0	6
Councillor Joseph Ejiolor Councillor Josh Dixon	Liberal Democrats	27	17	0	10
Councillor Julia Ogiehor	Liberal Democrats	24	5	3	16
Councillor Julia Ogienor Councillor Julie Davies	Labour				
		31	25	0	6
Councillor Justin Hinchcliffe	Liberal Democrats	10	6 9	0	4
Councillor Kaushika Amin	Labour	20		0	11
Councillor Khaled Moyeed	Labour	30	11	0	19
Councillor Kirsten Hearn	Labour	26	4	2	20
Councillor Liz Morris	Liberal Democrats	27	16	0	11
Councillor Lucia das Neves	Labour	34	30	0	4
Councillor Luke Cawley-Harrison	Liberal Democrats	35	33	0	2
Councillor Mahir Demir	Labour	22	12	0	10
Councillor Makbule Gunes	Labour	30	25	1	4
Councillor Mark Blake	Labour	22	14	1	7
Councillor Matt White	Labour	24	21	0	3
Councillor Mike Hakata	Labour	33	24	0	9
Councillor Nick da Costa	Liberal Democrats	28	16	5	7
Councillor Noah Tucker	Labour	19	13	0	6
Councillor Patrick Berryman	Labour	29	10	6	13
Councillor Paul Dennison	Liberal Democrats	23	16	1	6
Councillor Peray Ahmet	Labour	32	31	0	1
Councillor Peter Mitchell	Labour	30	27	0	3
Councillor Pippa Connor	Liberal Democrats	30	23	0	7
Councillor Preston Tabois	Labour	21	4	9	8
Councillor Reg Rice	Labour	35	32	0	3
Councillor Ruth Gordon	Labour	24	24	0	0
Councillor Sakina Chenot	Liberal Democrats	14	8	0	6
Councillor Sarah James	Independent	25	7	0	18
Councillor Sarah Williams	Labour	30	25	0	5
Councillor Scott Emery	Liberal Democrats	27	17	0	10
Councillor Seema Chandwani	Labour	24	18	0	6
Councillor Sheila Peacock	Labour	42	33	0	9
Councillor Tammy Palmer	Liberal Democrats	25	23	0	2
Councillor Vincent Carroll	Labour	16	8	0	8
Councillor Viv Ross	Liberal Democrats	47	41	1	5
Councillor Yvonne Say	Labour	40	35	0	5
Councillor Zena Brabazon	Labour	49	46	0	3

